Are you qualified for democracy?

Lower wages, fewer jobs and bleak futures are the result of decisions. If I ask someone “whose decisions?” and they answer “the president.” they are not *yet* qualified to engage in democracy.


That’s when I do my best to explain what the legislative branch is (2 houses of congress, the house based on population, and the senate based on a “2 each” model.) Then I tell them that they make their decisions based on who pressures them.

Then I tell them that both parties pretty much only listen to the richest and most powerful. Then I tell them that this means the top 0.1% is making the choices regarding our experience of our economy.

Then if they can still follow me, I tell them that getting money out of politics would immediately change the decisions of law makers. Without even discussing the overreach of the supreme court and if they heard me, they are now (possibly) qualified to engage in democracy.

Do you do something like this?

Leave a comment

Filed under Authoritarianism, Citizens United, Conservative Thought, Corporate Crimes, Fascism, History, Liberal Thought, Liberalism, Militarism, Plutocracy

Leave a Reply

